Probate Court: Marriage Licenses

Hours to Apply: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.  

Starting January 1, 2013 Probate Court will only accept credit card, debit cards, cash, money orders or cashier's checks in the exact amount for Marriage Licenses and Pistol Permits. Probate Court does not accept checks for Marriage Licenses and Pistol Permits.

Requirements for Securing a Marriage License

A marriage license may be issued to two people under the following conditions and procedures:

County of Issuance: If one of the parties is a resident of Georgia, the license can be issued in any county. 2. If neither party is a resident of Georgia, the license must be issue in the county in which the marriage ceremony is to be performed.

Application: A marriage license is issued based upon a written application made by the applicants, verified by oath of the applicants.

Blood Test: As of July 1, 2003, premarital blood tests are no longer required. The State of Georgia, however, recommends that each applicant applying for a marriage license obtain a blood test for sickle cell disease prior to obtaining a marriage license.

Surname: The applicants must designate on the application the legal surname that will be used after the marriage. An applicant may choose his or her given surname or his or her surname as changed by order of the superior court, the surname from a previous marriage, the spouse's surname, or a combination of the spouse's surname and the applicant's given or changed surname or surname from a previous marriage.

Legal Requirements: The parties must be of sound mind, must have no living spouse from an undissolved prior marriage, and must not be related in a degree prohibited by law. If the parties are at least 18 years of age, they may apply without parental consent. If either or both parties are less than 18 years of age, but at least 16 years of age, the parties may apply only with parental consent of the underage party or parties. Both parents must give written consent unless his/her rights have been terminated by an Order of a court. 2. Persons related by blood or marriage, falling within the following relationships may not be married in Georgia: (1) father and daughter or stepdaughter, (2) mother and son or stepson, (3) brother and sister of the whole blood or half blood, (4) grandparent and grandchild, (5) aunt and nephew, and (6) uncle and niece.

Premarital Education Program: Under Georgia Law, a couple who presents to the court at the time of making application a certificate of completion of a qualifying premarital education program shall not be assessed a marriage license fee(other charges may apply). The premarital education shall include at least six hours of instruction involving marital issues, which may include but not be limited to conflict management, communication skills, financial responsibilities, child and parenting responsibilities, and extended family roles. The premarital education shall be completed within 12 months prior to the application for a marriage license and the couple shall undergo the premarital education together. The premarital education shall be performed by: (1) A professional counselor, social worker, or marriage and family therapist who is licensed pursuant to Chapter 10A of Title 43; (2) A psychiatrist who is licensed as a physician pursuant to Chapter 34 of Title 43; (3) A psychologist who is licensed pursuant to Chapter 39 of Title 43; or (4) An active member of the clergy when in the course of his or her service as clergy or his or her designee, including retired clergy, provided that a designee is trained and skilled in premarital education.

All applicants must present a positive I.D. This may be either a Driver’s License, a certified copy of a Birth Certificate, a Military I.D., a Passport, or a State I.D. card. Not acceptable are Social Security Cards, Insurance Cards, Credit Cards, Work or School I.D. cards.

If either applicant has been divorced, please bring a certified copy of your most recent Judgement and Decree with the Judge’s signature on the order along with you when applying for your marriage license.

If either applicant’s most recent marriage ended due to the death of a spouse, please bring a copy of the death certificate along with you when applying for your marriage license. You may redact information such as the social security number and birth date.

Marriage license are issued between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and 4:00 P.M. in the Probate Court of Chatham County, 133 Montgomery St., Room 509, Savannah, GA. 31401.

Both applicants must be present at the same time in order to apply for the Marriage License. The fee for the Marriage License is $66.00. Pursuant to Code 19-30.1, a notarized premarital education certificate must be completed in order to obtain a marriage license for the reduced fee of $26.00. You will need the exact amount in credit card, debit card, cash, money order or cashier's check. 

NO PERSONAL CHECKS.

There is no waiting period in Georgia; you will receive your license at the time you apply.

Probate Court Hours for Issuing Marriage Licenses
The Chatham County Probate Court issues marriage licenses from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, except holidays.

Additional Questions
Additional questions regarding the marriage license may be directed to (912) 652-7277.

 
© Copyright 2018 - Chatham County Courts